Early Hua Hin History
Hua Hin Culture | Hua Hin culture and festivals
Hua Hin history takes us back to the 17th century where in 1834 some of the agricultural areas of Phetchaburi experienced severe drought. Some of the farmers moved south and found a small village with white sand and rock along the shoreline. Hua Hin history states they settled the area and named it Samore Riang, which means in Thai "rows of rock.".
Hua Hin history tells us that the director of the state operated train system built the Railway Hotel near the beach. King Rama VII developed such a fondness for this new settlement that he built a palace there for the summer. The name given to the palace was Wang Klai Kang Won (Far from Worries") based on Hua Hin history. Far removed from its original place in Hua Hin history, today Wang Klai Kang Won is the full-time residence of the His Royal Highness The King of Thailand.
For another piece of Hua Hin history, HRH Prince Krom Phra Naresworarit built a group of palaces at Ban Laem Hin, which he called Sukaves. Hua Hin history states he named the beach Hua Hin. Thus, if you follow Hua Hin history, Hua Hin was originally comprised of only the beach, but with the passage of time, the name has been identified with the surrounding city.
From District to City
According to Hua Hin history, until 1949 Hua Hin was part of the Pran Buri district when it became a district of Prachuap Khiri Khan province. Accordingly, according to Hua Hin history, after the southern railway was built, Hua Hin became the most popular beach resort throughout Thailand, a title that it still holds today.
The city has progressed far beyond what Hua Hin history originally showed when it was first introduced as a settlement. From village to beach resort in such a short time is an amazing part of Hua Hin history. With tourism trade at a peak in the 21st century, it's hard to believe that it was just an uninhabited village that has flowed through Hua Hin history to become a legendary beach resort of exemplary magnitude.
Last Updated: 06 Feb 2008